• Mike Rapoport's avatar
    mm: don't include asm/pgtable.h if linux/mm.h is already included · e31cf2f4
    Mike Rapoport authored
    Patch series "mm: consolidate definitions of page table accessors", v2.
    The low level page table accessors (pXY_index(), pXY_offset()) are
    duplicated across all architectures and sometimes more than once.  For
    instance, we have 31 definition of pgd_offset() for 25 supported
    Most of these definitions are actually identical and typically it boils
    down to, e.g.
    static inline unsigned long pmd_index(unsigned long address)
            return (address >> PMD_SHIFT) & (PTRS_PER_PMD - 1);
    static inline pmd_t *pmd_offset(pud_t *pud, unsigned long address)
            return (pmd_t *)pud_page_vaddr(*pud) + pmd_index(address);
    These definitions can be shared among 90% of the arches provided
    XYZ_SHIFT, PTRS_PER_XYZ and xyz_page_vaddr() are defined.
    For architectures that really need a custom version there is always
    possibility to override the generic version with the usual ifdefs magic.
    These patches introduce include/linux/pgtable.h that replaces
    include/asm-generic/pgtable.h and add the definitions of the page table
    accessors to the new header.
    This patch (of 12):
    The linux/mm.h header includes <asm/pgtable.h> to allow inlining of the
    functions involving page table manipulations, e.g.  pte_alloc() and
    pmd_alloc().  So, there is no point to explicitly include <asm/pgtable.h>
    in the files that include <linux/mm.h>.
    The include statements in such cases are remove with a simple loop:
    	for f in $(git grep -l "include <linux/mm.h>") ; do
    		sed -i -e '/include <asm\/pgtable.h>/ d' $f
    Signed-off-by: default avatarMike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
    Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
    Cc: Brian Cain <bcain@codeaurora.org>
    Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
    Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
    Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
    Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
    Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com>
    Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@linux-m68k.org>
    Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn>
    Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org>
    Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
    Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
    Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
    Cc: Ley Foon Tan <ley.foon.tan@intel.com>
    Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
    Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
    Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>
    Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>
    Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
    Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
    Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@kernel.org>
    Cc: Nick Hu <nickhu@andestech.com>
    Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>
    Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
    Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
    Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
    Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>
    Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
    Cc: Vincent Chen <deanbo422@gmail.com>
    Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
    Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
    Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200514170327.31389-1-rppt@kernel.org
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200514170327.31389-2-rppt@kernel.org
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>