Commit 3950746d authored by Nadav Amit's avatar Nadav Amit Committed by Ingo Molnar
Browse files

x86/alternatives: Add comment about module removal races



Add a comment to clarify that users of text_poke() must ensure that
no races with module removal take place.

Signed-off-by: default avatarNadav Amit <namit@vmware.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarRick Edgecombe <rick.p.edgecombe@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: <deneen.t.dock@intel.com>
Cc: <kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com>
Cc: <kristen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: <linux_dti@icloud.com>
Cc: <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@surriel.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190426001143.4983-22-namit@vmware.com


Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent 241a1f22
......@@ -810,6 +810,11 @@ static void *__text_poke(void *addr, const void *opcode, size_t len)
* It means the size must be writable atomically and the address must be aligned
* in a way that permits an atomic write. It also makes sure we fit on a single
* page.
*
* Note that the caller must ensure that if the modified code is part of a
* module, the module would not be removed during poking. This can be achieved
* by registering a module notifier, and ordering module removal and patching
* trough a mutex.
*/
void *text_poke(void *addr, const void *opcode, size_t len)
{
......
Supports Markdown
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment