Commit 61a47c1a authored by Eric W. Biederman's avatar Eric W. Biederman
Browse files

sysctl: Remove the sysctl system call



This system call has been deprecated almost since it was introduced, and
in a survey of the linux distributions I can no longer find any of them
that enable CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL.  The only indication that I can find
that anyone might care is that a few of the defconfigs in the kernel
enable CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL.  However this appears in only 31 of 414
defconfigs in the kernel, so I suspect this symbols presence is simply
because it is harmless to include rather than because it is necessary.

As there appear to be no users of the sysctl system call, remove the
code.  As this removes one of the few uses of the internal kernel mount
of proc I hope this allows for even more simplifications of the proc
filesystem.

Cc: Alex Smith <alex.smith@imgtec.com>
Cc: Anders Berg <anders.berg@lsi.com>
Cc: Apelete Seketeli <apelete@seketeli.net>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Chee Nouk Phoon <cnphoon@altera.com>
Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
Cc: Christian Ruppert <christian.ruppert@abilis.com>
Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>
Cc: Harvey Hunt <harvey.hunt@imgtec.com>
Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
Cc: Hongliang Tao <taohl@lemote.com>
Cc: Hua Yan <yanh@lemote.com>
Cc: Huacai Chen <chenhc@lemote.com>
Cc: John Crispin <blogic@openwrt.org>
Cc: Jonas Jensen <jonas.jensen@gmail.com>
Cc: Josh Boyer <jwboyer@gmail.com>
Cc: Jun Nie <jun.nie@linaro.org>
Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@linaro.org>
Cc: Kevin Wells <kevin.wells@nxp.com>
Cc: Kumar Gala <galak@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Lars-Peter Clausen <lars@metafoo.de>
Cc: Ley Foon Tan <lftan@altera.com>
Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Cc: Markos Chandras <markos.chandras@imgtec.com>
Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>
Cc: Noam Camus <noamc@ezchip.com>
Cc: Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>
Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>
Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
Cc: Phil Edworthy <phil.edworthy@renesas.com>
Cc: Pierrick Hascoet <pierrick.hascoet@abilis.com>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Roland Stigge <stigge@antcom.de>
Cc: Santosh Shilimkar <santosh.shilimkar@ti.com>
Cc: Scott Telford <stelford@cadence.com>
Cc: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Steven J. Hill <Steven.Hill@imgtec.com>
Cc: Tanmay Inamdar <tinamdar@apm.com>
Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
Cc: Wolfram Sang <w.sang@pengutronix.de>
Acked-by: default avatarAndi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Reviewed-by: default avatarKees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatar"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>
parent 54ecb8f7
......@@ -7,7 +7,6 @@ CONFIG_IKCONFIG=y
CONFIG_IKCONFIG_PROC=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_INITRD=y
CONFIG_CC_OPTIMIZE_FOR_PERFORMANCE_O3=y
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
# CONFIG_EPOLL is not set
# CONFIG_SIGNALFD is not set
# CONFIG_TIMERFD is not set
......
......@@ -15,7 +15,6 @@ CONFIG_INITRAMFS_ROOT_UID=2100
CONFIG_INITRAMFS_ROOT_GID=501
# CONFIG_RD_GZIP is not set
CONFIG_CC_OPTIMIZE_FOR_PERFORMANCE_O3=y
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
CONFIG_KALLSYMS_ALL=y
# CONFIG_AIO is not set
CONFIG_EMBEDDED=y
......
......@@ -20,7 +20,6 @@ CONFIG_NAMESPACES=y
CONFIG_SCHED_AUTOGROUP=y
CONFIG_RELAY=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_INITRD=y
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
CONFIG_EMBEDDED=y
# CONFIG_COMPAT_BRK is not set
CONFIG_PROFILING=y
......
......@@ -11,7 +11,6 @@ CONFIG_CGROUP_CPUACCT=y
CONFIG_CGROUP_SCHED=y
CONFIG_BLK_CGROUP=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_INITRD=y
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
CONFIG_KALLSYMS_ALL=y
# CONFIG_ELF_CORE is not set
# CONFIG_BASE_FULL is not set
......
......@@ -9,7 +9,6 @@ CONFIG_SYSFS_DEPRECATED=y
CONFIG_SYSFS_DEPRECATED_V2=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_INITRD=y
CONFIG_CC_OPTIMIZE_FOR_SIZE=y
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
CONFIG_EMBEDDED=y
CONFIG_SLAB=y
# CONFIG_ARCH_MULTI_V7 is not set
......
......@@ -4,7 +4,6 @@ CONFIG_SYSVIPC=y
CONFIG_NO_HZ=y
CONFIG_IKCONFIG=y
CONFIG_IKCONFIG_PROC=y
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
# CONFIG_ELF_CORE is not set
# CONFIG_BASE_FULL is not set
# CONFIG_SIGNALFD is not set
......
......@@ -5,7 +5,6 @@ CONFIG_IKCONFIG=y
CONFIG_IKCONFIG_PROC=y
CONFIG_CGROUPS=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_INITRD=y
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
CONFIG_KALLSYMS_ALL=y
CONFIG_EMBEDDED=y
# CONFIG_SLUB_DEBUG is not set
......
......@@ -11,7 +11,6 @@ CONFIG_RT_GROUP_SCHED=y
CONFIG_NAMESPACES=y
CONFIG_USER_NS=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_INITRD=y
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
CONFIG_KALLSYMS_ALL=y
CONFIG_EMBEDDED=y
CONFIG_PERF_EVENTS=y
......
# CONFIG_SWAP is not set
CONFIG_LOG_BUF_SHIFT=14
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
# CONFIG_KALLSYMS is not set
# CONFIG_FUTEX is not set
# CONFIG_EPOLL is not set
......
......@@ -17,7 +17,6 @@ CONFIG_CGROUP_CPUACCT=y
CONFIG_NAMESPACES=y
CONFIG_USER_NS=y
CONFIG_CC_OPTIMIZE_FOR_SIZE=y
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
CONFIG_KALLSYMS_ALL=y
CONFIG_EMBEDDED=y
# CONFIG_VM_EVENT_COUNTERS is not set
......
......@@ -21,7 +21,6 @@ CONFIG_SCHED_AUTOGROUP=y
CONFIG_SYSFS_DEPRECATED=y
CONFIG_RELAY=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_INITRD=y
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
CONFIG_EMBEDDED=y
CONFIG_MACH_LOONGSON64=y
CONFIG_LOONGSON_MACH3X=y
......
......@@ -5,7 +5,6 @@ CONFIG_NO_HZ=y
CONFIG_IKCONFIG=y
CONFIG_IKCONFIG_PROC=y
CONFIG_LOG_BUF_SHIFT=15
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
CONFIG_EMBEDDED=y
CONFIG_SLAB=y
CONFIG_MIPS_MALTA=y
......
......@@ -5,7 +5,6 @@ CONFIG_AUDIT=y
CONFIG_IKCONFIG=y
CONFIG_IKCONFIG_PROC=y
CONFIG_LOG_BUF_SHIFT=15
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
CONFIG_EMBEDDED=y
CONFIG_SLAB=y
CONFIG_MIPS_MALTA=y
......
......@@ -5,7 +5,6 @@ CONFIG_NO_HZ=y
CONFIG_IKCONFIG=y
CONFIG_IKCONFIG_PROC=y
CONFIG_LOG_BUF_SHIFT=15
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
CONFIG_EMBEDDED=y
CONFIG_SLAB=y
CONFIG_MIPS_MALTA=y
......
......@@ -5,7 +5,6 @@ CONFIG_NO_HZ=y
CONFIG_IKCONFIG=y
CONFIG_IKCONFIG_PROC=y
CONFIG_LOG_BUF_SHIFT=15
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
CONFIG_EMBEDDED=y
CONFIG_SLAB=y
CONFIG_MIPS_MALTA=y
......
......@@ -6,7 +6,6 @@ CONFIG_NO_HZ=y
CONFIG_IKCONFIG=y
CONFIG_IKCONFIG_PROC=y
CONFIG_LOG_BUF_SHIFT=15
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
CONFIG_EMBEDDED=y
CONFIG_SLAB=y
CONFIG_MIPS_MALTA=y
......
......@@ -16,7 +16,6 @@ CONFIG_CGROUP_CPUACCT=y
CONFIG_NAMESPACES=y
CONFIG_USER_NS=y
CONFIG_CC_OPTIMIZE_FOR_SIZE=y
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
CONFIG_KALLSYMS_ALL=y
CONFIG_EMBEDDED=y
# CONFIG_VM_EVENT_COUNTERS is not set
......
......@@ -2,7 +2,6 @@
CONFIG_SYSVIPC=y
# CONFIG_CROSS_MEMORY_ATTACH is not set
CONFIG_LOG_BUF_SHIFT=14
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
CONFIG_KALLSYMS_ALL=y
CONFIG_EMBEDDED=y
# CONFIG_VM_EVENT_COUNTERS is not set
......
......@@ -16,7 +16,6 @@ CONFIG_CGROUP_CPUACCT=y
CONFIG_NAMESPACES=y
CONFIG_USER_NS=y
CONFIG_CC_OPTIMIZE_FOR_SIZE=y
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
CONFIG_KALLSYMS_ALL=y
CONFIG_EMBEDDED=y
# CONFIG_VM_EVENT_COUNTERS is not set
......
......@@ -2,7 +2,6 @@ CONFIG_SYSVIPC=y
CONFIG_NO_HZ_IDLE=y
CONFIG_BSD_PROCESS_ACCT=y
CONFIG_LOG_BUF_SHIFT=14
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
# CONFIG_ELF_CORE is not set
# CONFIG_EPOLL is not set
# CONFIG_SIGNALFD is not set
......
Supports Markdown
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment