Commit 88db0aa2 authored by Xiaoming Ni's avatar Xiaoming Ni Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

all arch: remove system call sys_sysctl

Since commit 61a47c1a ("sysctl: Remove the sysctl system call"),
sys_sysctl is actually unavailable: any input can only return an error.

We have been warning about people using the sysctl system call for years
and believe there are no more users.  Even if there are users of this
interface if they have not complained or fixed their code by now they
probably are not going to, so there is no point in warning them any
longer.

So completely remove sys_sysctl on all architectures.

[nixiaoming@huawei.com: s390: fix build error for sys_call_table_emu]
 Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200618141426.16884-1-nixiaoming@huawei.com



Signed-off-by: default avatarXiaoming Ni <nixiaoming@huawei.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Acked-by: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>		[arm/arm64]
Acked-by: default avatar"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@cyphar.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Bin Meng <bin.meng@windriver.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: chenzefeng <chenzefeng2@huawei.com>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Christian Brauner <christian@brauner.io>
Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Diego Elio Pettenò <flameeyes@flameeyes.com>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Cc: Dominik Brodowski <linux@dominikbrodowski.net>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Iurii Zaikin <yzaikin@google.com>
Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com>
Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Kars de Jong <jongk@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>
Cc: Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org>
Cc: Marco Elver <elver@google.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Martin K. Petersen <martin.petersen@oracle.com>
Cc: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>
Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>
Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
Cc: Miklos Szeredi <mszeredi@redhat.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Naveen N. Rao <naveen.n.rao@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>
Cc: Paul Burton <paulburton@kernel.org>
Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@kernel.org>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
Cc: Ravi Bangoria <ravi.bangoria@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@google.com>
Cc: Sargun Dhillon <sargun@sargun.me>
Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
Cc: Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@arm.com>
Cc: Sven Schnelle <svens@stackframe.org>
Cc: Thiago Jung Bauermann <bauerman@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
Cc: Zhou Yanjie <zhouyanjie@wanyeetech.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200616030734.87257-1-nixiaoming@huawei.com


Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent c734124c
......@@ -249,7 +249,7 @@
316 common mlockall sys_mlockall
317 common munlockall sys_munlockall
318 common sysinfo sys_sysinfo
319 common _sysctl sys_sysctl
319 common _sysctl sys_ni_syscall
# 320 was sys_idle
321 common oldumount sys_oldumount
322 common swapon sys_swapon
......
......@@ -3,7 +3,6 @@ CONFIG_LOCALVERSION="gum"
CONFIG_SYSVIPC=y
CONFIG_SYSFS_DEPRECATED_V2=y
CONFIG_EXPERT=y
# CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL is not set
# CONFIG_EPOLL is not set
# CONFIG_SHMEM is not set
# CONFIG_VM_EVENT_COUNTERS is not set
......
......@@ -162,7 +162,7 @@
146 common writev sys_writev
147 common getsid sys_getsid
148 common fdatasync sys_fdatasync
149 common _sysctl sys_sysctl
149 common _sysctl sys_ni_syscall
150 common mlock sys_mlock
151 common munlock sys_munlock
152 common mlockall sys_mlockall
......
......@@ -308,8 +308,8 @@ __SYSCALL(__NR_writev, compat_sys_writev)
__SYSCALL(__NR_getsid, sys_getsid)
#define __NR_fdatasync 148
__SYSCALL(__NR_fdatasync, sys_fdatasync)
#define __NR__sysctl 149
__SYSCALL(__NR__sysctl, compat_sys_sysctl)
/* 149 was sys_sysctl */
__SYSCALL(149, sys_ni_syscall)
#define __NR_mlock 150
__SYSCALL(__NR_mlock, sys_mlock)
#define __NR_munlock 151
......
......@@ -135,7 +135,7 @@
123 common writev sys_writev
124 common pread64 sys_pread64
125 common pwrite64 sys_pwrite64
126 common _sysctl sys_sysctl
126 common _sysctl sys_ni_syscall
127 common mmap sys_mmap
128 common munmap sys_munmap
129 common mlock sys_mlock
......
......@@ -156,7 +156,7 @@
146 common writev sys_writev
147 common getsid sys_getsid
148 common fdatasync sys_fdatasync
149 common _sysctl sys_sysctl
149 common _sysctl sys_ni_syscall
150 common mlock sys_mlock
151 common munlock sys_munlock
152 common mlockall sys_mlockall
......
......@@ -156,7 +156,7 @@
146 common writev sys_writev
147 common getsid sys_getsid
148 common fdatasync sys_fdatasync
149 common _sysctl sys_sysctl
149 common _sysctl sys_ni_syscall
150 common mlock sys_mlock
151 common munlock sys_munlock
152 common mlockall sys_mlockall
......
......@@ -17,7 +17,6 @@ CONFIG_CGROUP_CPUACCT=y
CONFIG_NAMESPACES=y
CONFIG_USER_NS=y
CONFIG_CC_OPTIMIZE_FOR_SIZE=y
CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL=y
CONFIG_KALLSYMS_ALL=y
CONFIG_EMBEDDED=y
# CONFIG_VM_EVENT_COUNTERS is not set
......
......@@ -159,7 +159,7 @@
149 n32 munlockall sys_munlockall
150 n32 vhangup sys_vhangup
151 n32 pivot_root sys_pivot_root
152 n32 _sysctl compat_sys_sysctl
152 n32 _sysctl sys_ni_syscall
153 n32 prctl sys_prctl
154 n32 adjtimex sys_adjtimex_time32
155 n32 setrlimit compat_sys_setrlimit
......
......@@ -159,7 +159,7 @@
149 n64 munlockall sys_munlockall
150 n64 vhangup sys_vhangup
151 n64 pivot_root sys_pivot_root
152 n64 _sysctl sys_sysctl
152 n64 _sysctl sys_ni_syscall
153 n64 prctl sys_prctl
154 n64 adjtimex sys_adjtimex
155 n64 setrlimit sys_setrlimit
......
......@@ -164,7 +164,7 @@
150 o32 unused150 sys_ni_syscall
151 o32 getsid sys_getsid
152 o32 fdatasync sys_fdatasync
153 o32 _sysctl sys_sysctl compat_sys_sysctl
153 o32 _sysctl sys_ni_syscall
154 o32 mlock sys_mlock
155 o32 munlock sys_munlock
156 o32 mlockall sys_mlockall
......
......@@ -163,7 +163,7 @@
146 common writev sys_writev compat_sys_writev
147 common getsid sys_getsid
148 common fdatasync sys_fdatasync
149 common _sysctl sys_sysctl compat_sys_sysctl
149 common _sysctl sys_ni_syscall
150 common mlock sys_mlock
151 common munlock sys_munlock
152 common mlockall sys_mlockall
......
......@@ -197,7 +197,7 @@
146 common writev sys_writev compat_sys_writev
147 common getsid sys_getsid
148 common fdatasync sys_fdatasync
149 nospu _sysctl sys_sysctl compat_sys_sysctl
149 nospu _sysctl sys_ni_syscall
150 common mlock sys_mlock
151 common munlock sys_munlock
152 common mlockall sys_mlockall
......
......@@ -138,7 +138,7 @@
146 common writev sys_writev compat_sys_writev
147 common getsid sys_getsid sys_getsid
148 common fdatasync sys_fdatasync sys_fdatasync
149 common _sysctl sys_sysctl compat_sys_sysctl
149 common _sysctl - -
150 common mlock sys_mlock sys_mlock
151 common munlock sys_munlock sys_munlock
152 common mlockall sys_mlockall sys_mlockall
......
CONFIG_SYSVIPC=y
CONFIG_BSD_PROCESS_ACCT=y
CONFIG_LOG_BUF_SHIFT=14
# CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL is not set
CONFIG_SLAB=y
CONFIG_PROFILING=y
CONFIG_MODULES=y
......
......@@ -5,7 +5,6 @@ CONFIG_LOG_BUF_SHIFT=14
CONFIG_NAMESPACES=y
CONFIG_UTS_NS=y
CONFIG_IPC_NS=y
# CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL is not set
CONFIG_SLAB=y
CONFIG_PROFILING=y
CONFIG_OPROFILE=y
......
......@@ -3,7 +3,6 @@ CONFIG_IKCONFIG=y
CONFIG_IKCONFIG_PROC=y
CONFIG_LOG_BUF_SHIFT=14
# CONFIG_CC_OPTIMIZE_FOR_SIZE is not set
# CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL is not set
CONFIG_SLAB=y
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_BSG is not set
CONFIG_CPU_SUBTYPE_SH7709=y
......
CONFIG_SYSVIPC=y
CONFIG_LOG_BUF_SHIFT=14
# CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL is not set
CONFIG_KALLSYMS_EXTRA_PASS=y
CONFIG_SLAB=y
CONFIG_MODULES=y
......
CONFIG_SYSVIPC=y
CONFIG_LOG_BUF_SHIFT=14
# CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL is not set
CONFIG_KALLSYMS_EXTRA_PASS=y
CONFIG_SLAB=y
CONFIG_MODULES=y
......
......@@ -2,7 +2,6 @@ CONFIG_BSD_PROCESS_ACCT=y
CONFIG_LOG_BUF_SHIFT=14
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_INITRD=y
# CONFIG_CC_OPTIMIZE_FOR_SIZE is not set
# CONFIG_SYSCTL_SYSCALL is not set
CONFIG_SLAB=y
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_BSG is not set
CONFIG_CPU_SUBTYPE_SH4_202=y
......
Supports Markdown
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment