Commit e31cf2f4 authored by Mike Rapoport's avatar Mike Rapoport Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

mm: don't include asm/pgtable.h if linux/mm.h is already included



Patch series "mm: consolidate definitions of page table accessors", v2.

The low level page table accessors (pXY_index(), pXY_offset()) are
duplicated across all architectures and sometimes more than once.  For
instance, we have 31 definition of pgd_offset() for 25 supported
architectures.

Most of these definitions are actually identical and typically it boils
down to, e.g.

static inline unsigned long pmd_index(unsigned long address)
{
        return (address >> PMD_SHIFT) & (PTRS_PER_PMD - 1);
}

static inline pmd_t *pmd_offset(pud_t *pud, unsigned long address)
{
        return (pmd_t *)pud_page_vaddr(*pud) + pmd_index(address);
}

These definitions can be shared among 90% of the arches provided
XYZ_SHIFT, PTRS_PER_XYZ and xyz_page_vaddr() are defined.

For architectures that really need a custom version there is always
possibility to override the generic version with the usual ifdefs magic.

These patches introduce include/linux/pgtable.h that replaces
include/asm-generic/pgtable.h and add the definitions of the page table
accessors to the new header.

This patch (of 12):

The linux/mm.h header includes <asm/pgtable.h> to allow inlining of the
functions involving page table manipulations, e.g.  pte_alloc() and
pmd_alloc().  So, there is no point to explicitly include <asm/pgtable.h>
in the files that include <linux/mm.h>.

The include statements in such cases are remove with a simple loop:

	for f in $(git grep -l "include <linux/mm.h>") ; do
		sed -i -e '/include <asm\/pgtable.h>/ d' $f
	done

Signed-off-by: default avatarMike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brian Cain <bcain@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com>
Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn>
Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Ley Foon Tan <ley.foon.tan@intel.com>
Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>
Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@kernel.org>
Cc: Nick Hu <nickhu@andestech.com>
Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>
Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>
Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Vincent Chen <deanbo422@gmail.com>
Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200514170327.31389-1-rppt@kernel.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200514170327.31389-2-rppt@kernel.org


Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 9cb8f069
......@@ -16,7 +16,6 @@
#include <asm/console.h>
#include <asm/hwrpb.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/io.h>
#include <stdarg.h>
......
......@@ -18,7 +18,6 @@
#include <asm/console.h>
#include <asm/hwrpb.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/io.h>
#include <stdarg.h>
......
......@@ -14,7 +14,6 @@
#include <asm/console.h>
#include <asm/hwrpb.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <stdarg.h>
......
......@@ -7,7 +7,6 @@
#include <linux/kernel.h>
#include <linux/mm.h>
#include <asm/compiler.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/machvec.h>
#include <asm/hwrpb.h>
......
......@@ -37,7 +37,6 @@
#include <asm/reg.h>
#include <linux/uaccess.h>
#include <asm/io.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/hwrpb.h>
#include <asm/fpu.h>
......
......@@ -19,7 +19,6 @@
#include <linux/audit.h>
#include <linux/uaccess.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/fpu.h>
#include "proto.h"
......
......@@ -55,7 +55,6 @@ static struct notifier_block alpha_panic_block = {
};
#include <linux/uaccess.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/hwrpb.h>
#include <asm/dma.h>
#include <asm/mmu_context.h>
......
......@@ -36,7 +36,6 @@
#include <asm/io.h>
#include <asm/irq.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/pgalloc.h>
#include <asm/mmu_context.h>
#include <asm/tlbflush.h>
......
......@@ -23,7 +23,6 @@
#include <asm/dma.h>
#include <asm/mmu_context.h>
#include <asm/irq.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/core_cia.h>
#include <asm/tlbflush.h>
......
......@@ -23,7 +23,6 @@
#include <asm/irq.h>
#include <asm/mmu_context.h>
#include <asm/io.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/core_apecs.h>
#include <asm/core_cia.h>
#include <asm/core_lca.h>
......
......@@ -26,7 +26,6 @@
#include <asm/irq.h>
#include <asm/mmu_context.h>
#include <asm/io.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/core_tsunami.h>
#include <asm/hwrpb.h>
#include <asm/tlbflush.h>
......
......@@ -22,7 +22,6 @@
#include <asm/irq.h>
#include <asm/mmu_context.h>
#include <asm/io.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/core_apecs.h>
#include <asm/core_lca.h>
#include <asm/hwrpb.h>
......
......@@ -23,7 +23,6 @@
#include <asm/irq.h>
#include <asm/mmu_context.h>
#include <asm/io.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/core_tsunami.h>
#include <asm/hwrpb.h>
#include <asm/tlbflush.h>
......
......@@ -25,7 +25,6 @@
#include <asm/dma.h>
#include <asm/irq.h>
#include <asm/mmu_context.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/tlbflush.h>
#include "proto.h"
......
......@@ -18,7 +18,6 @@
#include <asm/irq.h>
#include <asm/mmu_context.h>
#include <asm/io.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/core_marvel.h>
#include <asm/hwrpb.h>
#include <asm/tlbflush.h>
......
......@@ -22,7 +22,6 @@
#include <asm/irq.h>
#include <asm/mmu_context.h>
#include <asm/io.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/core_cia.h>
#include <asm/tlbflush.h>
......
......@@ -23,7 +23,6 @@
#include <asm/irq.h>
#include <asm/mmu_context.h>
#include <asm/io.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/core_apecs.h>
#include <asm/core_cia.h>
#include <asm/tlbflush.h>
......
......@@ -40,7 +40,6 @@
#include <asm/irq.h>
#include <asm/mmu_context.h>
#include <asm/io.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/core_irongate.h>
#include <asm/hwrpb.h>
#include <asm/tlbflush.h>
......
......@@ -24,7 +24,6 @@
#include <asm/irq.h>
#include <asm/mmu_context.h>
#include <asm/io.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/core_apecs.h>
#include <asm/core_cia.h>
#include <asm/tlbflush.h>
......
......@@ -21,7 +21,6 @@
#include <asm/irq.h>
#include <asm/mmu_context.h>
#include <asm/io.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/core_mcpcia.h>
#include <asm/tlbflush.h>
......
Supports Markdown
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment