1. 15 Aug, 2020 3 commits
    • Krzysztof Kozlowski's avatar
      iomap: constify ioreadX() iomem argument (as in generic implementation) · 8f28ca6b
      Krzysztof Kozlowski authored
      Patch series "iomap: Constify ioreadX() iomem argument", v3.
      
      The ioread8/16/32() and others have inconsistent interface among the
      architectures: some taking address as const, some not.
      
      It seems there is nothing really stopping all of them to take pointer to
      const.
      
      This patch (of 4):
      
      The ioreadX() and ioreadX_rep() helpers have inconsistent interface.  On
      some architectures void *__iomem address argument is a pointer to const,
      on some not.
      
      Implementations of ioreadX() do not modify the memory under the address so
      they can be converted to a "const" version for const-safety and
      consistency among architectures.
      
      [krzk@kernel.org: sh: clk: fix assignment from incompatible pointer type for ioreadX()]
        Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200723082017.24053-1-krzk@kernel.org
      [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix drivers/mailbox/bcm-pdc-mailbox.c]
        Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/202007132209.Rxmv4QyS%25lkp@intel.com
      
      Suggested-by: Geert Uytterho...
      8f28ca6b
    • Kuninori Morimoto's avatar
      sh: use generic strncpy() · f9e7ff9c
      Kuninori Morimoto authored
      
      
      Current SH will get below warning at strncpy()
      
      In file included from ${LINUX}/arch/sh/include/asm/string.h:3,
                       from ${LINUX}/include/linux/string.h:20,
                       from ${LINUX}/include/linux/bitmap.h:9,
                       from ${LINUX}/include/linux/nodemask.h:95,
                       from ${LINUX}/include/linux/mmzone.h:17,
                       from ${LINUX}/include/linux/gfp.h:6,
                       from ${LINUX}/innclude/linux/slab.h:15,
                       from ${LINUX}/linux/drivers/mmc/host/vub300.c:38:
      ${LINUX}/drivers/mmc/host/vub300.c: In function 'new_system_port_status':
      ${LINUX}/arch/sh/include/asm/string_32.h:51:42: warning: array subscript\
        80 is above array bounds of 'char[26]' [-Warray-bounds]
         : "0" (__dest), "1" (__src), "r" (__src+__n)
                                           ~~~~~^~~~
      
      In general, strncpy() should behave like below.
      
      	char dest[10];
      	char *src = "12345";
      
      	strncpy(dest, src, 10);
      	// dest = {'1', '2', '3', '4', '5',
      	           '\0','\0','\0','\0','\0'}
      
      But, current SH strnpy() has 2 issues.
      1st is it will access to out-of-memory (= src + 10).
      2nd is it needs big fixup for it, and maintenance __asm__
      code is difficult.
      
      To solve these issues, this patch simply uses generic strncpy()
      instead of architecture specific one.
      
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKuninori Morimoto <kuninori.morimoto.gx@renesas.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: Alan Modra <amodra@gmail.com>
      Cc: Bin Meng <bin.meng@windriver.com>
      Cc: Chen Zhou <chenzhou10@huawei.com>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>
      Cc: John Paul Adrian Glaubitz <glaubitz@physik.fu-berlin.de>
      Cc: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>
      Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
      Cc: Romain Naour <romain.naour@gmail.com>
      Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Link: https://marc.info/?l=linux-renesas-soc&m=157664657013309
      
      
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      f9e7ff9c
    • Xiaoming Ni's avatar
      all arch: remove system call sys_sysctl · 88db0aa2
      Xiaoming Ni authored
      Since commit 61a47c1a ("sysctl: Remove the sysctl system call"),
      sys_sysctl is actually unavailable: any input can only return an error.
      
      We have been warning about people using the sysctl system call for years
      and believe there are no more users.  Even if there are users of this
      interface if they have not complained or fixed their code by now they
      probably are not going to, so there is no point in warning them any
      longer.
      
      So completely remove sys_sysctl on all architectures.
      
      [nixiaoming@huawei.com: s390: fix build error for sys_call_table_emu]
       Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200618141426.16884-1-nixiaoming@huawei.com
      
      
      
      Signed-off-by: default avatarXiaoming Ni <nixiaoming@huawei.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Acked-by: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>		[arm/arm64]
      Acked-by: default avatar"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>
      Cc: Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@cyphar.com>
      Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
      Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
      Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Bin Meng <bin.meng@windriver.com>
      Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
      Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
      Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
      Cc: chenzefeng <chenzefeng2@huawei.com>
      Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Christian Brauner <christian@brauner.io>
      Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Diego Elio Pettenò <flameeyes@flameeyes.com>
      Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
      Cc: Dominik Brodowski <linux@dominikbrodowski.net>
      Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
      Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
      Cc: Iurii Zaikin <yzaikin@google.com>
      Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
      Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
      Cc: Kars de Jong <jongk@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
      Cc: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>
      Cc: Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org>
      Cc: Marco Elver <elver@google.com>
      Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
      Cc: Martin K. Petersen <martin.petersen@oracle.com>
      Cc: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>
      Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>
      Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>
      Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
      Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
      Cc: Miklos Szeredi <mszeredi@redhat.com>
      Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
      Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
      Cc: Naveen N. Rao <naveen.n.rao@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
      Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
      Cc: Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>
      Cc: Paul Burton <paulburton@kernel.org>
      Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@kernel.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
      Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
      Cc: Ravi Bangoria <ravi.bangoria@linux.ibm.com>
      Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
      Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
      Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
      Cc: Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@google.com>
      Cc: Sargun Dhillon <sargun@sargun.me>
      Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
      Cc: Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@arm.com>
      Cc: Sven Schnelle <svens@stackframe.org>
      Cc: Thiago Jung Bauermann <bauerman@linux.ibm.com>
      Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>
      Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
      Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
      Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Cc: Zhou Yanjie <zhouyanjie@wanyeetech.com>
      Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200616030734.87257-1-nixiaoming@huawei.com
      
      
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      88db0aa2
  2. 14 Aug, 2020 4 commits
  3. 13 Aug, 2020 1 commit
  4. 12 Aug, 2020 32 commits