• Alexander Sverdlin's avatar
    MIPS: bootmem: Don't use memory holes for page bitmap · a6335fa1
    Alexander Sverdlin authored
    Commit f9a7febd leads to a fact that mapstart and therefore a page bitmap for
    bootmem allocator immediately follows initrd_end. This doesn't always work
    well on Octeon, where there are holes in PFN ranges (refer to 5b3b1688 and
    4MB-aligned PFN allocation). Depending on the inird location it could happen,
    that mapstart would be in an area not allocated by plat_mem_setup() in
    arch/mips/cavium-octeon/setup.c, but in the alignment hole between initrd and
    the next PFN area. Later on this memory will be unconditionally made available
    to buddy allocator at the end of free_all_bootmem_core() (mm/bootmem.c).
    All of this results in Linux using the memory not designated for Linux in
    Octeon's plat_mem_setup(), which in turn means corruption of the memory used
    by another OS/baremetal code on the same SoC.
    
    It doesn't look to me as a problem of Octeon platform code, but rather as an
    inability of f9a7febd
    
     to deal correctly with the fragmented memory-mappings.
    Proposed fix moves the check for initrd address to the same calculation-loop
    in bootmem_init() (arch/mips/kernel/setup.c), which also accounts for kernel
    code location. This should result in mapstart located starting from the first
    PFN area after kernel code AND initrd.
    
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAlexander Sverdlin <alexander.sverdlin@nokia.com>
    Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org
    Cc: David Daney <david.daney@cavium.com>
    Cc: Zubair Lutfullah Kakakhel <Zubair.Kakakhel@imgtec.com>
    Cc: Huacai Chen <chenhc@lemote.com>
    Cc: Andreas Herrmann <andreas.herrmann@caviumnetworks.com>
    Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
    Cc: Steven J. Hill <Steven.Hill@imgtec.com>
    Cc: Yusuf Khan <yusuf.khan@nokia.com>
    Cc: Michael Kreuzer <michael.kreuzer@nokia.com>
    Cc: Aaro Koskinen <aaro.koskinen@iki.fi>
    Patchwork: https://patchwork.linux-mips.org/patch/10594/
    
    
    Signed-off-by: default avatarRalf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
    a6335fa1