Commit f073bdc5 authored by Ard Biesheuvel's avatar Ard Biesheuvel Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

mm: don't dereference struct page fields of invalid pages

The VM_BUG_ON() check in move_freepages() checks whether the node id of
a page matches the node id of its zone.  However, it does this before
having checked whether the struct page pointer refers to a valid struct
page to begin with.  This is guaranteed in most cases, but may not be
the case if CONFIG_HOLES_IN_ZONE=y.

So reorder the VM_BUG_ON() with the pfn_valid_within() check.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1481706707-6211-2-git-send-email-ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org


Signed-off-by: default avatarArd Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Acked-by: default avatarWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Hanjun Guo <hanjun.guo@linaro.org>
Cc: Yisheng Xie <xieyisheng1@huawei.com>
Cc: Robert Richter <rrichter@cavium.com>
Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 9ebf73b2
......@@ -1864,14 +1864,14 @@ int move_freepages(struct zone *zone,
#endif
for (page = start_page; page <= end_page;) {
/* Make sure we are not inadvertently changing nodes */
VM_BUG_ON_PAGE(page_to_nid(page) != zone_to_nid(zone), page);
if (!pfn_valid_within(page_to_pfn(page))) {
page++;
continue;
}
/* Make sure we are not inadvertently changing nodes */
VM_BUG_ON_PAGE(page_to_nid(page) != zone_to_nid(zone), page);
if (!PageBuddy(page)) {
page++;
continue;
......
Supports Markdown
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment