Commit 264edd81 authored by Vincenzo Frascino's avatar Vincenzo Frascino Committed by Stephen Rothwell
Browse files

arm64: enable armv8.5-a asm-arch option

Hardware tag-based KASAN relies on Memory Tagging Extension (MTE) which is
an armv8.5-a architecture extension.

Enable the correct asm option when the compiler supports it in order to
allow the usage of ALTERNATIVE()s with MTE instructions.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/d03d1157124ea3532eaeb77507988733f5734986.1606161801.git.andreyknvl@google.com

Signed-off-by: Vincenzo Frascino's avatarVincenzo Frascino <vincenzo.frascino@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Catalin Marinas's avatarCatalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Reviewed-by: default avatarAlexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>
Tested-by: Vincenzo Frascino's avatarVincenzo Frascino <vincenzo.frascino@arm.com>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: Branislav Rankov <Branislav.Rankov@arm.com>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Cc: Evgenii Stepanov <eugenis@google.com>
Cc: Kevin Brodsky <kevin.brodsky@arm.com>
Cc: Marco Elver <elver@google.com>
Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarStephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
parent 8ba6defb
......@@ -1591,6 +1591,9 @@ endmenu
menu "ARMv8.5 architectural features"
config AS_HAS_ARMV8_5
def_bool $(cc-option,-Wa$(comma)-march=armv8.5-a)
config ARM64_BTI
bool "Branch Target Identification support"
default y
......@@ -1665,6 +1668,7 @@ config ARM64_MTE
bool "Memory Tagging Extension support"
default y
depends on ARM64_AS_HAS_MTE && ARM64_TAGGED_ADDR_ABI
depends on AS_HAS_ARMV8_5
select ARCH_USES_HIGH_VMA_FLAGS
help
Memory Tagging (part of the ARMv8.5 Extensions) provides
......
......@@ -100,6 +100,11 @@ ifeq ($(CONFIG_AS_HAS_ARMV8_4), y)
asm-arch := armv8.4-a
endif
ifeq ($(CONFIG_AS_HAS_ARMV8_5), y)
# make sure to pass the newest target architecture to -march.
asm-arch := armv8.5-a
endif
ifdef asm-arch
KBUILD_CFLAGS += -Wa,-march=$(asm-arch) \
-DARM64_ASM_ARCH='"$(asm-arch)"'
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment