Commit 28c1c9fa authored by KarimAllah Ahmed's avatar KarimAllah Ahmed Committed by Thomas Gleixner
Browse files

KVM/VMX: Emulate MSR_IA32_ARCH_CAPABILITIES



Intel processors use MSR_IA32_ARCH_CAPABILITIES MSR to indicate RDCL_NO
(bit 0) and IBRS_ALL (bit 1). This is a read-only MSR. By default the
contents will come directly from the hardware, but user-space can still
override it.

[dwmw2: The bit in kvm_cpuid_7_0_edx_x86_features can be unconditional]
Signed-off-by: default avatarKarimAllah Ahmed <karahmed@amazon.de>
Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid Woodhouse <dwmw@amazon.co.uk>
Signed-off-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Reviewed-by: default avatarPaolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: default avatarDarren Kenny <darren.kenny@oracle.com>
Reviewed-by: default avatarJim Mattson <jmattson@google.com>
Reviewed-by: default avatarKonrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jun Nakajima <jun.nakajima@intel.com>
Cc: kvm@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Asit Mallick <asit.k.mallick@intel.com>
Cc: Arjan Van De Ven <arjan.van.de.ven@intel.com>
Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@intel.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/1517522386-18410-4-git-send-email-karahmed@amazon.de
parent 15d45071
......@@ -394,7 +394,7 @@ static inline int __do_cpuid_ent(struct kvm_cpuid_entry2 *entry, u32 function,
/* cpuid 7.0.edx*/
const u32 kvm_cpuid_7_0_edx_x86_features =
F(AVX512_4VNNIW) | F(AVX512_4FMAPS);
F(AVX512_4VNNIW) | F(AVX512_4FMAPS) | F(ARCH_CAPABILITIES);
/* all calls to cpuid_count() should be made on the same cpu */
get_cpu();
......
......@@ -594,6 +594,8 @@ struct vcpu_vmx {
u64 msr_guest_kernel_gs_base;
#endif
u64 arch_capabilities;
u32 vm_entry_controls_shadow;
u32 vm_exit_controls_shadow;
u32 secondary_exec_control;
......@@ -3260,6 +3262,12 @@ static int vmx_get_msr(struct kvm_vcpu *vcpu, struct msr_data *msr_info)
case MSR_IA32_TSC:
msr_info->data = guest_read_tsc(vcpu);
break;
case MSR_IA32_ARCH_CAPABILITIES:
if (!msr_info->host_initiated &&
!guest_cpuid_has(vcpu, X86_FEATURE_ARCH_CAPABILITIES))
return 1;
msr_info->data = to_vmx(vcpu)->arch_capabilities;
break;
case MSR_IA32_SYSENTER_CS:
msr_info->data = vmcs_read32(GUEST_SYSENTER_CS);
break;
......@@ -3395,6 +3403,11 @@ static int vmx_set_msr(struct kvm_vcpu *vcpu, struct msr_data *msr_info)
vmx_disable_intercept_for_msr(vmx->vmcs01.msr_bitmap, MSR_IA32_PRED_CMD,
MSR_TYPE_W);
break;
case MSR_IA32_ARCH_CAPABILITIES:
if (!msr_info->host_initiated)
return 1;
vmx->arch_capabilities = data;
break;
case MSR_IA32_CR_PAT:
if (vmcs_config.vmentry_ctrl & VM_ENTRY_LOAD_IA32_PAT) {
if (!kvm_mtrr_valid(vcpu, MSR_IA32_CR_PAT, data))
......@@ -5657,6 +5670,8 @@ static void vmx_vcpu_setup(struct vcpu_vmx *vmx)
++vmx->nmsrs;
}
if (boot_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_ARCH_CAPABILITIES))
rdmsrl(MSR_IA32_ARCH_CAPABILITIES, vmx->arch_capabilities);
vm_exit_controls_init(vmx, vmcs_config.vmexit_ctrl);
......
......@@ -1009,6 +1009,7 @@ static u32 msrs_to_save[] = {
#endif
MSR_IA32_TSC, MSR_IA32_CR_PAT, MSR_VM_HSAVE_PA,
MSR_IA32_FEATURE_CONTROL, MSR_IA32_BNDCFGS, MSR_TSC_AUX,
MSR_IA32_ARCH_CAPABILITIES
};
static unsigned num_msrs_to_save;
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment