Commit 29434801 authored by Sean Christopherson's avatar Sean Christopherson Committed by Ingo Molnar
Browse files

x86/vdso: Remove a stale/misleading comment from the linker script



Once upon a time, vdso2c aggressively stripped data from the vDSO
image when generating the final userspace image.  This included
stripping the .altinstructions and .altinstr_replacement sections.
Eventually, the stripping process reverted to "objdump -S" and no
longer removed the aforementioned sections, but the comment remained.

Keeping the .alt* sections at the end of the PT_LOAD segment is no
longer necessary, but there's no harm in doing so and it's a helpful
reminder that they don't need to be included in the final vDSO image,
i.e. someone may want to take another stab at zapping/stripping the
unneeded sections.

Signed-off-by: default avatarSean Christopherson <sean.j.christopherson@intel.com>
Acked-by: default avatarAndy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@surriel.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Fixes: da861e18 ("x86, vdso: Get rid of the fake section mechanism")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181204212600.28090-3-sean.j.christopherson@intel.com


Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent 24b7c77b
......@@ -65,11 +65,6 @@ SECTIONS
.text : { *(.text*) } :text =0x90909090,
/*
* At the end so that eu-elflint stays happy when vdso2c strips
* these. A better implementation would avoid allocating space
* for these.
*/
.altinstructions : { *(.altinstructions) } :text
.altinstr_replacement : { *(.altinstr_replacement) } :text
......
Supports Markdown
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment