Commit 319904ad authored by Huang Ying's avatar Huang Ying Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

mm, THP: clean up return value of madvise_free_huge_pmd

The definition of return value of madvise_free_huge_pmd is not clear
before.  According to the suggestion of Minchan Kim, change the type of
return value to bool and return true if we do MADV_FREE successfully on
entire pmd page, otherwise, return false.  Comments are added too.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1467135452-16688-2-git-send-email-ying.huang@intel.com


Signed-off-by: default avatar"Huang, Ying" <ying.huang@intel.com>
Acked-by: default avatarMinchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jerome Marchand <jmarchan@redhat.com>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Ebru Akagunduz <ebru.akagunduz@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 18fd06bf
......@@ -11,7 +11,7 @@ extern struct page *follow_trans_huge_pmd(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
unsigned long addr,
pmd_t *pmd,
unsigned int flags);
extern int madvise_free_huge_pmd(struct mmu_gather *tlb,
extern bool madvise_free_huge_pmd(struct mmu_gather *tlb,
struct vm_area_struct *vma,
pmd_t *pmd, unsigned long addr, unsigned long next);
extern int zap_huge_pmd(struct mmu_gather *tlb,
......
......@@ -1249,25 +1249,26 @@ out:
return 0;
}
int madvise_free_huge_pmd(struct mmu_gather *tlb, struct vm_area_struct *vma,
/*
* Return true if we do MADV_FREE successfully on entire pmd page.
* Otherwise, return false.
*/
bool madvise_free_huge_pmd(struct mmu_gather *tlb, struct vm_area_struct *vma,
pmd_t *pmd, unsigned long addr, unsigned long next)
{
spinlock_t *ptl;
pmd_t orig_pmd;
struct page *page;
struct mm_struct *mm = tlb->mm;
int ret = 0;
bool ret = false;
ptl = pmd_trans_huge_lock(pmd, vma);
if (!ptl)
goto out_unlocked;
orig_pmd = *pmd;
if (is_huge_zero_pmd(orig_pmd)) {
ret = 1;
if (is_huge_zero_pmd(orig_pmd))
goto out;
}
page = pmd_page(orig_pmd);
/*
......@@ -1309,7 +1310,7 @@ int madvise_free_huge_pmd(struct mmu_gather *tlb, struct vm_area_struct *vma,
set_pmd_at(mm, addr, pmd, orig_pmd);
tlb_remove_pmd_tlb_entry(tlb, pmd, addr);
}
ret = 1;
ret = true;
out:
spin_unlock(ptl);
out_unlocked:
......
Supports Markdown
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment