Commit bc448e89 authored by Michal Hocko's avatar Michal Hocko Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

mm, oom_reaper: report success/failure



Inform about the successful/failed oom_reaper attempts and dump all the
held locks to tell us more who is blocking the progress.

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix CONFIG_MMU=n build]
Signed-off-by: default avatarMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Andrea Argangeli <andrea@kernel.org>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 36324a99
......@@ -410,6 +410,8 @@ static DECLARE_WAIT_QUEUE_HEAD(oom_victims_wait);
bool oom_killer_disabled __read_mostly;
#define K(x) ((x) << (PAGE_SHIFT-10))
#ifdef CONFIG_MMU
/*
* OOM Reaper kernel thread which tries to reap the memory used by the OOM
......@@ -479,6 +481,11 @@ static bool __oom_reap_task(struct task_struct *tsk)
&details);
}
tlb_finish_mmu(&tlb, 0, -1);
pr_info("oom_reaper: reaped process %d (%s), now anon-rss:%lukB, file-rss:%lukB, shmem-rss:%lukB\n",
task_pid_nr(tsk), tsk->comm,
K(get_mm_counter(mm, MM_ANONPAGES)),
K(get_mm_counter(mm, MM_FILEPAGES)),
K(get_mm_counter(mm, MM_SHMEMPAGES)));
up_read(&mm->mmap_sem);
/*
......@@ -495,14 +502,21 @@ out:
return ret;
}
#define MAX_OOM_REAP_RETRIES 10
static void oom_reap_task(struct task_struct *tsk)
{
int attempts = 0;
/* Retry the down_read_trylock(mmap_sem) a few times */
while (attempts++ < 10 && !__oom_reap_task(tsk))
while (attempts++ < MAX_OOM_REAP_RETRIES && !__oom_reap_task(tsk))
schedule_timeout_idle(HZ/10);
if (attempts > MAX_OOM_REAP_RETRIES) {
pr_info("oom_reaper: unable to reap pid:%d (%s)\n",
task_pid_nr(tsk), tsk->comm);
debug_show_all_locks();
}
/* Drop a reference taken by wake_oom_reaper */
put_task_struct(tsk);
}
......@@ -649,7 +663,6 @@ static bool process_shares_mm(struct task_struct *p, struct mm_struct *mm)
return false;
}
#define K(x) ((x) << (PAGE_SHIFT-10))
/*
* Must be called while holding a reference to p, which will be released upon
* returning.
......
Supports Markdown
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment