1. 03 Feb, 2018 2 commits
  2. 02 Feb, 2018 4 commits
  3. 01 Feb, 2018 1 commit
  4. 31 Jan, 2018 2 commits
    • Paolo Bonzini's avatar
      KVM: VMX: make MSR bitmaps per-VCPU · 904e14fb
      Paolo Bonzini authored
      
      
      Place the MSR bitmap in struct loaded_vmcs, and update it in place
      every time the x2apic or APICv state can change.  This is rare and
      the loop can handle 64 MSRs per iteration, in a similar fashion as
      nested_vmx_prepare_msr_bitmap.
      
      This prepares for choosing, on a per-VM basis, whether to intercept
      the SPEC_CTRL and PRED_CMD MSRs.
      
      Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org       # prereq for Spectre mitigation
      Suggested-by: default avatarJim Mattson <jmattson@google.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarPaolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
      904e14fb
    • Josh Poimboeuf's avatar
      x86/paravirt: Remove 'noreplace-paravirt' cmdline option · 12c69f1e
      Josh Poimboeuf authored
      
      
      The 'noreplace-paravirt' option disables paravirt patching, leaving the
      original pv indirect calls in place.
      
      That's highly incompatible with retpolines, unless we want to uglify
      paravirt even further and convert the paravirt calls to retpolines.
      
      As far as I can tell, the option doesn't seem to be useful for much
      other than introducing surprising corner cases and making the kernel
      vulnerable to Spectre v2.  It was probably a debug option from the early
      paravirt days.  So just remove it.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJosh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarJuergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
      Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
      Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
      Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@intel.com>
      Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
      Cc: Jun Nakajima <jun.nakajima@intel.com>
      Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
      Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
      Cc: Asit Mallick <asit.k.mallick@intel.com>
      Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
      Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@akamai.com>
      Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
      Cc: Alok Kataria <akataria@vmware.com>
      Cc: Arjan Van De Ven <arjan.van.de.ven@intel.com>
      Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
      Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
      Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180131041333.2x6blhxirc2kclrq@treble
      12c69f1e
  5. 30 Jan, 2018 24 commits
  6. 28 Jan, 2018 7 commits