1. 03 Feb, 2018 5 commits
  2. 02 Feb, 2018 4 commits
  3. 01 Feb, 2018 1 commit
  4. 31 Jan, 2018 2 commits
    • Paolo Bonzini's avatar
      KVM: VMX: make MSR bitmaps per-VCPU · 904e14fb
      Paolo Bonzini authored
      
      
      Place the MSR bitmap in struct loaded_vmcs, and update it in place
      every time the x2apic or APICv state can change.  This is rare and
      the loop can handle 64 MSRs per iteration, in a similar fashion as
      nested_vmx_prepare_msr_bitmap.
      
      This prepares for choosing, on a per-VM basis, whether to intercept
      the SPEC_CTRL and PRED_CMD MSRs.
      
      Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org       # prereq for Spectre mitigation
      Suggested-by: default avatarJim Mattson <jmattson@google.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarPaolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
      904e14fb
    • Josh Poimboeuf's avatar
      x86/paravirt: Remove 'noreplace-paravirt' cmdline option · 12c69f1e
      Josh Poimboeuf authored
      
      
      The 'noreplace-paravirt' option disables paravirt patching, leaving the
      original pv indirect calls in place.
      
      That's highly incompatible with retpolines, unless we want to uglify
      paravirt even further and convert the paravirt calls to retpolines.
      
      As far as I can tell, the option doesn't seem to be useful for much
      other than introducing surprising corner cases and making the kernel
      vulnerable to Spectre v2.  It was probably a debug option from the early
      paravirt days.  So just remove it.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJosh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarJuergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
      Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
      Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
      Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@intel.com>
      Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
      Cc: Jun Nakajima <jun.nakajima@intel.com>
      Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
      Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
      Cc: Asit Mallick <asit.k.mallick@intel.com>
      Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
      Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@akamai.com>
      Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
      Cc: Alok Kataria <akataria@vmware.com>
      Cc: Arjan Van De Ven <arjan.van.de.ven@intel.com>
      Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
      Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
      Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180131041333.2x6blhxirc2kclrq@treble
      12c69f1e
  5. 30 Jan, 2018 24 commits
  6. 28 Jan, 2018 4 commits
    • Linus Torvalds's avatar
      Linux 4.15 · d8a5b805
      Linus Torvalds authored
      d8a5b805
    • Linus Torvalds's avatar
      Merge branch 'x86-pti-for-linus' of git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/tip/tip · 24b1cccf
      Linus Torvalds authored
      Pull x86 retpoline fixlet from Thomas Gleixner:
       "Remove the ESP/RSP thunks for retpoline as they cannot ever work.
      
        Get rid of them before they show up in a release"
      
      * 'x86-pti-for-linus' of git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/tip/tip:
        x86/retpoline: Remove the esp/rsp thunk
      24b1cccf
    • Linus Torvalds's avatar
      Merge branch 'x86-urgent-for-linus' of git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/tip/tip · 32c6cdf7
      Linus Torvalds authored
      Pull x86 fixes from Thomas Gleixner:
       "A set of small fixes for 4.15:
      
         - Fix vmapped stack synchronization on systems with 4-level paging
           and a large amount of memory caused by a missing 5-level folding
           which made the pgd synchronization logic to fail and causing double
           faults.
      
         - Add a missing sanity check in the vmalloc_fault() logic on 5-level
           paging systems.
      
         - Bring back protection against accessing a freed initrd in the
           microcode loader which was lost by a wrong merge conflict
           resolution.
      
         - Extend the Broadwell micro code loading sanity check.
      
         - Add a missing ENDPROC annotation in ftrace assembly code which
           makes ORC unhappy.
      
         - Prevent loading the AMD power module on !AMD platforms. The load
           itself is uncritical, but an unload attempt results in a kernel
           crash.
      
         - Update Peter Anvins role in the MAINTAINERS file"
      
      * 'x86-urgent-for-linus' of git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/tip/tip:
        x86/ftrace: Add one more ENDPROC annotation
        x86: Mark hpa as a "Designated Reviewer" for the time being
        x86/mm/64: Tighten up vmalloc_fault() sanity checks on 5-level kernels
        x86/mm/64: Fix vmapped stack syncing on very-large-memory 4-level systems
        x86/microcode: Fix again accessing initrd after having been freed
        x86/microcode/intel: Extend BDW late-loading further with LLC size check
        perf/x86/amd/power: Do not load AMD power module on !AMD platforms
      32c6cdf7
    • Linus Torvalds's avatar
      Merge branch 'timers-urgent-for-linus' of git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/tip/tip · 07b0137c
      Linus Torvalds authored
      Pull timer fix from Thomas Gleixner:
       "A single fix for a ~10 years old problem which causes high resolution
        timers to stop after a CPU unplug/plug cycle due to a stale flag in
        the per CPU hrtimer base struct.
      
        Paul McKenney was hunting this for about a year, but the heisenbug
        nature made it resistant against debug attempts for quite some time"
      
      * 'timers-urgent-for-linus' of git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/tip/tip:
        hrtimer: Reset hrtimer cpu base proper on CPU hotplug
      07b0137c