Commit 73956fc0 authored by Peter Zijlstra's avatar Peter Zijlstra Committed by Ingo Molnar
Browse files

membarrier: Fix RCU locking bug caused by faulty merge

The following commit:

  227a4aad

 ("sched/membarrier: Fix p->mm->membarrier_state racy load")

got fat fingered by me when merging it with other patches. It meant to move
the RCU section out of the for loop but ended up doing it partially, leaving
a superfluous rcu_read_lock() inside, causing havok.
Reported-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@ezchip.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Eric W. Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Kirill Tkhai <tkhai@yandex.ru>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Russell King - ARM Linux admin <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: linux-tip-commits@vger.kernel.org
Fixes: 227a4aad ("sched/membarrier: Fix p->mm->membarrier_state racy load")
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191001085033.GP4519@hirez.programming.kicks-ass.net

Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent 54ecb8f7
......@@ -174,7 +174,6 @@ static int membarrier_private_expedited(int flags)
*/
if (cpu == raw_smp_processor_id())
continue;
rcu_read_lock();
p = rcu_dereference(cpu_rq(cpu)->curr);
if (p && p->mm == mm)
__cpumask_set_cpu(cpu, tmpmask);
......
Supports Markdown
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment