• Zi Yan's avatar
    mm: thp: enable thp migration in generic path · 616b8371
    Zi Yan authored
    Add thp migration's core code, including conversions between a PMD entry
    and a swap entry, setting PMD migration entry, removing PMD migration
    entry, and waiting on PMD migration entries.
    
    This patch makes it possible to support thp migration.  If you fail to
    allocate a destination page as a thp, you just split the source thp as
    we do now, and then enter the normal page migration.  If you succeed to
    allocate destination thp, you enter thp migration.  Subsequent patches
    actually enable thp migration for each caller of page migration by
    allowing its get_new_page() callback to allocate thps.
    
    [zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu: fix gcc-4.9.0 -Wmissing-braces warning]
      Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/A0ABA698-7486-46C3-B209-E95A9048B22C@cs.rutgers.edu
    
    
    [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix x86_64 allnoconfig warning]
    Signed-off-by: default avatarZi Yan <zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu>
    Acked-by: default avatarKirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
    Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
    Cc: Anshuman Khandual <khandual@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
    Cc: David Nellans <dnellans@nvidia.com>
    Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
    Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
    Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
    Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
    Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
    Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    616b8371
huge_memory.c 77.7 KB