Commit 03a3bb7a authored by Stephen Boyd's avatar Stephen Boyd Committed by Herbert Xu
Browse files

hwrng: core - Freeze khwrng thread during suspend



The hwrng_fill() function can run while devices are suspending and
resuming. If the hwrng is behind a bus such as i2c or SPI and that bus
is suspended, the hwrng may hang the bus while attempting to add some
randomness. It's been observed on ChromeOS devices with suspend-to-idle
(s2idle) and an i2c based hwrng that this kthread may run and ask the
hwrng device for randomness before the i2c bus has been resumed.

Let's make this kthread freezable so that we don't try to touch the
hwrng during suspend/resume. This ensures that we can't cause the hwrng
backing driver to get into a bad state because the device is guaranteed
to be resumed before the hwrng kthread is thawed.

Cc: Andrey Pronin <apronin@chromium.org>
Cc: Duncan Laurie <dlaurie@chromium.org>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Guenter Roeck <groeck@chromium.org>
Cc: Alexander Steffen <Alexander.Steffen@infineon.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarStephen Boyd <swboyd@chromium.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarHerbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>
parent c9fbcf68
......@@ -13,6 +13,7 @@
#include <linux/delay.h>
#include <linux/device.h>
#include <linux/err.h>
#include <linux/freezer.h>
#include <linux/fs.h>
#include <linux/hw_random.h>
#include <linux/kernel.h>
......@@ -421,7 +422,9 @@ static int hwrng_fillfn(void *unused)
{
long rc;
while (!kthread_should_stop()) {
set_freezable();
while (!kthread_freezable_should_stop(NULL)) {
struct hwrng *rng;
rng = get_current_rng();
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment