1. 23 Aug, 2019 1 commit
  2. 16 Aug, 2019 23 commits
  3. 12 Aug, 2019 3 commits
  4. 06 Aug, 2019 1 commit
  5. 19 Jul, 2019 1 commit
    • David Hildenbrand's avatar
      mm/memory_hotplug: allow arch_remove_memory() without CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTREMOVE · 80ec922d
      David Hildenbrand authored
      We want to improve error handling while adding memory by allowing to use
      arch_remove_memory() and __remove_pages() even if
      CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTREMOVE is not set to e.g., implement something like:
      
      	arch_add_memory()
      	rc = do_something();
      	if (rc) {
      		arch_remove_memory();
      	}
      
      We won't get rid of CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTREMOVE for now, as it will require
      quite some dependencies for memory offlining.
      
      Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190527111152.16324-7-david@redhat.com
      
      
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarPavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>
      Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
      Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
      Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
      Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
      Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
      Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
      Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
      Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>
      Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
      Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
      Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.com>
      Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Alex Deucher <alexander.deucher@amd.com>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
      Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
      Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>
      Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
      Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
      Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
      Cc: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>
      Cc: "mike.travis@hpe.com" <mike.travis@hpe.com>
      Cc: Andrew Banman <andrew.banman@hpe.com>
      Cc: Arun KS <arunks@codeaurora.org>
      Cc: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
      Cc: Mathieu Malaterre <malat@debian.org>
      Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>
      Cc: Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com>
      Cc: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
      Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
      Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
      Cc: Chintan Pandya <cpandya@codeaurora.org>
      Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
      Cc: Jonathan Cameron <Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com>
      Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
      Cc: Jun Yao <yaojun8558363@gmail.com>
      Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
      Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
      Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>
      Cc: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@gmail.com>
      Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      Cc: Yu Zhao <yuzhao@google.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      80ec922d
  6. 17 Jul, 2019 1 commit
    • Anshuman Khandual's avatar
      mm, kprobes: generalize and rename notify_page_fault() as kprobe_page_fault() · b98cca44
      Anshuman Khandual authored
      Architectures which support kprobes have very similar boilerplate around
      calling kprobe_fault_handler().  Use a helper function in kprobes.h to
      unify them, based on the x86 code.
      
      This changes the behaviour for other architectures when preemption is
      enabled.  Previously, they would have disabled preemption while calling
      the kprobe handler.  However, preemption would be disabled if this fault
      was due to a kprobe, so we know the fault was not due to a kprobe
      handler and can simply return failure.
      
      This behaviour was introduced in commit a980c0ef ("x86/kprobes:
      Refactor kprobes_fault() like kprobe_exceptions_notify()")
      
      [anshuman.khandual@arm.com: export kprobe_fault_handler()]
        Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1561133358-8876-1-git-send-email-anshuman.khandual@arm.com
      Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1560420444-25737-1-git-send-email-anshuman.khandual@arm.com
      
      
      Signed-off-by: Anshuman Khandual's avatarAnshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarDave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
      Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
      Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
      Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>
      Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
      Cc: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>
      Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
      Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
      Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
      Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
      Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
      Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
      Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>
      Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      b98cca44
  7. 15 Jul, 2019 1 commit
    • Mauro Carvalho Chehab's avatar
      docs: ia64: convert to ReST · db9a0975
      Mauro Carvalho Chehab authored
      
      
      Rename the ia64 documentation files to ReST, add an
      index for them and adjust in order to produce a nice html
      output via the Sphinx build system.
      
      There are two upper case file names. Rename them to
      lower case, as we're working to avoid upper case file
      names at Documentation.
      
      At its new index.rst, let's add a :orphan: while this is not linked to
      the main index.rst file, in order to avoid build warnings.
      
      Signed-off-by: default avatarMauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+samsung@kernel.org>
      db9a0975
  8. 14 Jul, 2019 1 commit
  9. 28 Jun, 2019 1 commit
    • Christian Brauner's avatar
      arch: wire-up pidfd_open() · 7615d9e1
      Christian Brauner authored
      
      
      This wires up the pidfd_open() syscall into all arches at once.
      
      Signed-off-by: default avatarChristian Brauner <christian@brauner.io>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarDavid Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarOleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarArnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
      Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>
      Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
      Cc: Joel Fernandes (Google) <joel@joelfernandes.org>
      Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>
      Cc: Andy Lutomirsky <luto@kernel.org>
      Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@cyphar.com>
      Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: linux-api@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
      Cc: linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org
      Cc: linux-mips@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
      Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: linux-sh@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: sparclinux@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org
      Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: x86@kernel.org
      7615d9e1
  10. 23 Jun, 2019 1 commit
  11. 19 Jun, 2019 3 commits
  12. 05 Jun, 2019 1 commit
  13. 03 Jun, 2019 2 commits
    • Mark Rutland's avatar
      locking/atomic, ia64: Use s64 for atomic64 · d84e28d2
      Mark Rutland authored
      
      
      As a step towards making the atomic64 API use consistent types treewide,
      let's have the ia64 atomic64 implementation use s64 as the underlying
      type for atomic64_t, rather than long or __s64, matching the generated
      headers.
      
      As atomic64_read() depends on the generic defintion of atomic64_t, this
      still returns long. This will be converted in a subsequent patch.
      
      Otherwise, there should be no functional change as a result of this
      patch.
      
      Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland's avatarMark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
      Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
      Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
      Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
      Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      Cc: aou@eecs.berkeley.edu
      Cc: arnd@arndb.de
      Cc: bp@alien8.de
      Cc: catalin.marinas@arm.com
      Cc: davem@davemloft.net
      Cc: heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com
      Cc: herbert@gondor.apana.org.au
      Cc: ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru
      Cc: jhogan@kernel.org
      Cc: linux@armlinux.org.uk
      Cc: mattst88@gmail.com
      Cc: mpe@ellerman.id.au
      Cc: palmer@sifive.com
      Cc: paul.burton@mips.com
      Cc: paulus@samba.org
      Cc: ralf@linux-mips.org
      Cc: rth@twiddle.net
      Cc: vgupta@synopsys.com
      Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190522132250.26499-9-mark.rutland@arm.com
      
      
      Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
      d84e28d2
    • Sebastian Andrzej Siewior's avatar
      sched/core: Provide a pointer to the valid CPU mask · 3bd37062
      Sebastian Andrzej Siewior authored
      In commit:
      
        4b53a341
      
       ("sched/core: Remove the tsk_nr_cpus_allowed() wrapper")
      
      the tsk_nr_cpus_allowed() wrapper was removed. There was not
      much difference in !RT but in RT we used this to implement
      migrate_disable(). Within a migrate_disable() section the CPU mask is
      restricted to single CPU while the "normal" CPU mask remains untouched.
      
      As an alternative implementation Ingo suggested to use:
      
      	struct task_struct {
      		const cpumask_t		*cpus_ptr;
      		cpumask_t		cpus_mask;
              };
      with
      	t->cpus_ptr = &t->cpus_mask;
      
      In -RT we then can switch the cpus_ptr to:
      
      	t->cpus_ptr = &cpumask_of(task_cpu(p));
      
      in a migration disabled region. The rules are simple:
      
       - Code that 'uses' ->cpus_allowed would use the pointer.
       - Code that 'modifies' ->cpus_allowed would use the direct mask.
      
      Signed-off-by: default avatarSebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
      Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190423142636.14347-1-bigeasy@linutronix.de
      
      
      Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
      3bd37062