• David Rientjes's avatar
    Revert "Revert "Revert "mm, thp: consolidate THP gfp handling into alloc_hugepage_direct_gfpmask"" · 19deb769
    David Rientjes authored
    This reverts commit 92717d42.
    
    Since commit a8282608
    
     ("Revert "mm, thp: restore node-local hugepage
    allocations"") is reverted in this series, it is better to restore the
    previous 5.2 behavior between the thp allocation and the page allocator
    rather than to attempt any consolidation or cleanup for a policy that is
    now reverted.  It's less risky during an rc cycle and subsequent patches
    in this series further modify the same policy that the pre-5.3 behavior
    implements.
    
    Consolidation and cleanup can be done subsequent to a sane default page
    allocation strategy, so this patch reverts a cleanup done on a strategy
    that is now reverted and thus is the least risky option.
    Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
    Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
    Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
    Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
    Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
    Cc: Stefan Priebe - Profihost AG <s.priebe@profihost.ag>
    Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>
    Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    19deb769
gfp.h 22.7 KB