Commit c7534397 authored by Dennis Chen's avatar Dennis Chen Committed by Ingo Molnar
Browse files

efi/arm: Fix the format of EFI debug messages



When both EFI and memblock debugging is enabled on the kernel command line:

  'efi=debug memblock=debug'

.. the debug messages for early_con look the following way:

 [    0.000000] efi:   0x0000e1050000-0x0000e105ffff [Memory Mapped I/O  |RUN|  |  |  |  |  |  |   |  |  |  |UC]
 [    0.000000] efi:   0x0000e1300000-0x0000e1300fff [Memory Mapped I/O  |RUN|  |  |  |  |  |  |   |  |  |  |UC]
 [    0.000000] efi:   0x0000e8200000-0x0000e827ffff [Memory Mapped I/O  |RUN|  |  |  |  |  |  |   |  |  |  |UC]
 [    0.000000] efi:   0x008000000000-0x008001e7ffff [Runtime Data       |RUN|  |  |  |  |  |  |   |WB|WT|WC|UC]
 [    0.000000] memblock_add: [0x00008000000000-0x00008001e7ffff] flags 0x0 early_init_dt_add_memory_arch+0x54/0x5c
 [    0.000000] *
 ...

Note the misplaced '*' line, which happened because the memblock debug message
was printed while the EFI debug message was still being constructed..

This patch fixes the output to be the expected:

 [    0.000000] efi:   0x0000e1050000-0x0000e105ffff [Memory Mapped I/O  |RUN|  |  |  |  |  |  |   |  |  |  |UC]
 [    0.000000] efi:   0x0000e1300000-0x0000e1300fff [Memory Mapped I/O  |RUN|  |  |  |  |  |  |   |  |  |  |UC]
 [    0.000000] efi:   0x0000e8200000-0x0000e827ffff [Memory Mapped I/O  |RUN|  |  |  |  |  |  |   |  |  |  |UC]
 [    0.000000] efi:   0x008000000000-0x008001e7ffff [Runtime Data       |RUN|  |  |  |  |  |  |   |WB|WT|WC|UC]*
 [    0.000000] memblock_add: [0x00008000000000-0x00008001e7ffff] flags 0x0 early_init_dt_add_memory_arch+0x54/0x5c
 ...

Note how the '*' is now in the proper EFI debug message line.

Signed-off-by: default avatarDennis Chen <dennis.chen@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarMatt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>
Acked-by: Mark Rutland's avatarMark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Steve Capper <steve.capper@arm.com>
Cc: Steve McIntyre <steve@einval.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: linux-efi@vger.kernel.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1464690224-4503-3-git-send-email-matt@codeblueprint.co.uk


[ Made the changelog more readable. ]
Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent 55f1ea15
......@@ -174,6 +174,7 @@ static __init void reserve_regions(void)
{
efi_memory_desc_t *md;
u64 paddr, npages, size;
int resv;
if (efi_enabled(EFI_DBG))
pr_info("Processing EFI memory map:\n");
......@@ -190,12 +191,14 @@ static __init void reserve_regions(void)
paddr = md->phys_addr;
npages = md->num_pages;
resv = is_reserve_region(md);
if (efi_enabled(EFI_DBG)) {
char buf[64];
pr_info(" 0x%012llx-0x%012llx %s",
pr_info(" 0x%012llx-0x%012llx %s%s\n",
paddr, paddr + (npages << EFI_PAGE_SHIFT) - 1,
efi_md_typeattr_format(buf, sizeof(buf), md));
efi_md_typeattr_format(buf, sizeof(buf), md),
resv ? "*" : "");
}
memrange_efi_to_native(&paddr, &npages);
......@@ -204,14 +207,9 @@ static __init void reserve_regions(void)
if (is_normal_ram(md))
early_init_dt_add_memory_arch(paddr, size);
if (is_reserve_region(md)) {
if (resv)
memblock_mark_nomap(paddr, size);
if (efi_enabled(EFI_DBG))
pr_cont("*");
}
if (efi_enabled(EFI_DBG))
pr_cont("\n");
}
set_bit(EFI_MEMMAP, &efi.flags);
......
Supports Markdown
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment